STORY OF THE BRIDE – My Wedding Jewelry

Hello wonderful people.. Today I thought to get back on that wedding diaries blog series of mine. I had decided to finish the entire series before our first wedding anniversary but with this speed I doubt I am gonna achieve that 😉 So let’s get back on track.. Today I thought of bringing to you my joy of collecting those beautiful wedding jewelry items.. So lets get going with it..

So being in the States, it was difficult to search for Indian Ethnic jewelry but it was not impossible.. However not to lie, most of this shopping was done from Indian Bazaars of places like Delhi, Chandigarh and Dehradun.. 😉

Before I start, I would like to let you guys know that the step of buying jewelry for any Bride should start once all her bridal couture is ready as these are to be matched and then brought. I am sorry for bringing the step 2 to you before the step 1… 😀 But for all the Bride-to-be out there, please go and finalize your outfits before splurging on these jewels 😉

IMG_3507

Design of this jewelry is called Chandrabali. ‘Chandra’ in Hindi means moon and ‘Bali’ means earring, these words put together makes Chandrabali.. The name came as the earring is in the form of half moon. These became pretty famous as Ram Leela Dangle earrings after worn by Bollywood Leading actress Deepika Padukone in one of her movies. This piece was picked from Delhi by one of my friend. There are many places in Delhi to pick up artificial ethnic jewelry like Sadar Bazar, Hauz Khas Village, Connaught Place, Chandni Chowk. OMG, these places are like ‘shop til you drop for the shopaholics’.. 🙂

I guess I didn’t get to wear the in any of my wedding function but I wore it to one of my friend’s wedding which was during the same time.. 🙂

IMG_3508

 

IMG_3510

The one in the form of open umbrella above are another type of Indian traditional earrings called Jhumki and one of my personal favorite. I loved the pearl work done on these.

 

This jhumar style piece along with the jhumki in the above picture were picked up from Chandigarh by another friend of mine S. S has a real dig for finding amazing pieces among the lot. So I am not sure if all the pieces in the store were this amazing but yupp when I met her, she told me that she wanted to buy the entire lot. he he. I don’t really remember which market she picked these from but we both are a big fan of Shastri market in Sector 22.  I wore this piece for my Mehendi function.. In this function, bride and all her friends and relatives apply heena designs to their hands and feet and then dance on some Indian traditional folk music which is then followed by the Bollywood dance numbers.. 😀

 

So these are the trinkets that were brought from India by my dear friends.. I got a lot of compliments for the jhumar style, the one with green and red pearl work..

IMG_3509

 

Above is a set containing a necklace, earring and a piece of jewelry called Maangtika. A maangtika is a jewelry which is worn in such a  way that one end, which has a small pin, is attached to the hair and the other end, which has an ornament, rests at the hairline. That’s the explanation.. he he.. that i could do 😉 But the best part about the above set is that I brought it from States. There is a boutique called Parinaz in Houston area, from where I bought my entire wedding ensemble and this set is picked from there as well. Parinaz has one of the most beautiful and affordable collection of clothes as well as jewelry. Well, there is one more place to find Indian Ethnic Jewelry in Houston area and it is, Hillcroft. There are n number of stores here selling Ethnic clothes and jewelry but i personally did not like the customer service at the stores I visited here. I will be talking more about these places in my Bridal Couture post.

Well I wore the above set for my wedding reception with a Lehenga.. This was not of the same color as my dress but it went well with it and the entire combination was looking beautiful.

My lovely friends.. please take a lot of time to decide on your jewelry as these items bring out the most beautiful look of yours. I had spent more than three and half hours before finalizing the above set for my reception. I had worn my Lehenga and I kept on changing different sets, combining one necklace with some earring, some head piece, and all was worth it. So spend some time there and you will be glad that you did… 🙂

 

The little artificial flower adorned with studs and gold colored pearls was used to decorate the bun on my head and was a complimentary gift from my makeup artist 🙂 Man, they put so many bobby pins in the hair with so much of artificial hair in there to make that big bun,, It pains.. 😦 but the result is beautiful.. 😀

IMG_3512

 

That’s my unorganized bangle box with all the bangles I own 🙂

IMG_3514IMG_3513

 

These are glass bangles and hence these were brought from my hometown Dehradun. I didn’t wanted to carry these from here to India, so I had left that part of the shopping for my beloved hometown. The entire market there is spread across few miles where one small bazaar is linked to another bazaar. So bangles market was next to I guess saree & lehenga market. I don’t remember the name of the Bangle market but the entire market as a whole is called Paltan Bazaar starting from Clock Tower. My sister took me to a familiar shop. I gave the shop keeper my Lehenga’s dupatta (meaning a long piece of cloth to cover head, which will be matching the other pieces of my dress) to match the bangles with it and he started praising it. The lady sitting next me also started complementing the work done on it and color combination. I was so happy to hear the good words pouring for my eight months long effort of search and constant measurements and more modifications.. 😀 Work well done..

This is half of the set of bangles I wore on my reception. I could model for only this much as I am the sole photographer here .. 😉

So Indian wedding is a long affair of atleast 2-3 days with so many functions and these jewelry items were bought for each of those functions. These are all artificial ones to be worn with not so much care 😀 … I hope you enjoyed watching as much as I enjoyed wearing them 🙂

Have an amazing week ahead!!

Love

S…

6 thoughts on “STORY OF THE BRIDE – My Wedding Jewelry

  1. Catherine says:

    I’m jealz! I LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. Indian Jewelry. In fact, not only is a trip to India on my bucket list, but it is a serious “want” of mine to own Indian earrings! Quite honestly, I could look at those pics and they could be my daily lemmings! Beautiful! XOXOXOXO!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

